Beethoven: The 5 Cello Sonatas

15. Feb 2019

Barcode: 0190295534875

Komponist: Ludwig van Beethoven
Mitwirkende: János Starker, György Sebök

The cellist János Starker and the pianist György Sebök, both born in Hungary in the early 1920s, made a musical team for some 60 years. These recordings were made in 1959 in Paris, where they both found themselves after the Soviet crackdown on Hungary. “Starker [is] at the peak of his form,” wrote Gramophone. “The cello's timbre is refined and subtly coloured … and the pianist is completely in harmony with his partner.”